9. Rondel

I’m fairly new to the rondel. (I’m fairly new to a lot of poetic forms, which is the whole point of this project). It’s a variant of the rondeau, which I like specifically for the repetition of lines, and a longer version of the rondelet (which I’ll be doing in few days a month can be found here).

A rondel is a French poetic form that is composed of two quatrains and either a quintet or a sestet. It follows an easy-to-follow rhyme scheme ABba abAB abbaA (alternatively, abbaAB), where A and B are the refrains. The meter is open, although it’s usually done with eight syllables.

There He Stood

I saw a pair of foggy eyes.
I barely noticed. There he stood.
Same blue eyes I saw in the wood,
The lights above revolving clockwise.

Eyes. His eyes. I can only surmise…
His hands. I would. I wished I could.
I saw a pair of foggy eyes.
I barely noticed. There he stood.

He smiled. Wished he would. Wished he would.
His hands in mine — a fine surprise.
Then inundated with goodbyes.
Left me with a whiff of pinewood.
I saw a pair of foggy eyes.
I barely noticed where he stood.

Jingle Poetry Potluck

7 thoughts on “9. Rondel

  1. how very disciplined , I’m afraid i just write and learn from others while I make mistakes, this was definitely not a mistake …..thank you for shaking

  2. Pingback: 19. Rondelet « Poeformology

Leave a Reply

