49. Envelope Couplets

You know, it has always been one of my goals to write a poem about zombies, but I’ve never really found the perfect theme and form to do it in. But I’m getting ahead of myself.

Envelope couplets are a fun form.

Your average envelope couplet stanza will be made of six lines or three couplets: refrains on either end, the 2nd and 5th rhyming with it, and a center couplet with a separate rhyme. It’ll look something like: AabbaA, where the A’s are the refrain. You can have as many stanzas as you like.

It’s called an envelope couplet poem because the ‘bb’ couplet is enclosed by two couplets on either side. I think. There can be more than one way to interpret its structure. For instance, it could be looked at as a sort of Matryoshka doll poem, where the A’s and a’s are actually separated couplets that contain the bb couplet. (Excuse my brain; it’s around 8 a.m. here, and I’ve been up for the past 10 hours.)

Blood drips in the shadow,
‘Neath the moon’s ghastly glow.
Nascent fear curdles in his heart,
As the corpse comes to a start;
Bellows with spittle like warm snow.
Blood drips in the shadow.

Blood drips in the shadow,
As he runs through hallways narrow.
Both courage and weapon blunt lost
In a spate of madness, sanity tossed;
Stares miles down out of a window.
Blood drips in the shadow.

Blood drips in the shadow;
Hears it clear as the moon aglow,
Sees it pour in the dim,
As he’s torn limb from limb.
Savors . . . feels it with each blow.
Blood drips in the shadow.

Blood drips in the shadow,
To cast joy on a face full of sorrow,
Regret; yet peaceful in slumber.
Not a care of the evils that wander.
Yet again turns ghastly sallow.
Blood drips in the shadow.


Poetry Pantry

***

And it looks like we’ve been nominated for a cool award by Mary Ann from My Pen and Me.

So, I have to post 7 things my readers may not know about me:

1. I cut my own hair
2. I write novels and stageplays
3. I’m into musical theatre
4. I like chubby men
5. I have a collection of Tamagotchis
6. I’m a baritenor with a vocal range of F3 – G5
7. I’m a big Questionable Content fan

Now, I’m supposed to nominate 10 blogs I enjoy reading:

1. Kim Nelson Writes
2. Rooted
3. Write in Motion
4. Jim’s Little Photo and Poem Place
5. Over a Cup of Coffee
6. Ravienne-lations
7. The Wilderness Downtown
8. Magical Mystical Teacher
9. Rinkly Rimes
10. Waystation One

Some of these blogs, I’ve been visiting now and then since I started in ’08 on my old one. Give them a read; you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

