54. Clerihew

I apologize for not having updated in months. I’ve just been so busy with life and Modern Day Epic. Anyway, this semester, I’m taking Creative Writing, and we’re doing clerihews next week, so I thought I’d get a head start.

The clerihew was one of the poetic forms I wanted to try first when I started Poeformology, but I never found the perfect subject to write about.

A clerihew is a single quatrain (a four-liner) with the rhyme scheme AABB (that means two different rhyming couplets [two lines*]), and does not have a meter. The poetic form is biographical and is usually about a famous (and/or infamous) person. If you’re familiar with the limerick, a clerihew usually has to have the same humorous feel to it. Furthermore, the first line is almost always the person’s full name.

I’m not at all sure if my subject has become so infamous as to be known by people all over the world now, so you may have to do some research on the guy if you don’t live in the Philippines. I hope I don’t go to jail for this.

* – I really should get to writing that glossary; I mean, for chrissake, it’s been more than a year now.

Vicente Sotto the Third
Likes to wait till brandy is curd;
Brings TV to the senate:
Long commercial breaks from the ballot.

2 thoughts on “54. Clerihew

Leave a Reply

